The Yukon Chamber of Mines Concludes 78th Annual General Meeting


November 18, 2021

Whitehorse, Yukon

The Yukon Chamber of Mines (YCM) held its Annual General Meeting virtually on Wednesday, November 17th from the boardroom of the Yukon Chamber of Mines. An election of officers (see attached list) was held, and 7 directors vied for 6 seats, while the Executive was acclaimed.

Incoming President Loralee Johnstone, of Minto Mine Explorations Ltd. was acclaimed to her first term. “Congratulations to the new board members, it is exciting to be able to work with you over the next year and I am honored to take on the new role as president,” Mrs. Johnstone said. “In the year ahead Yukon’s mining industry will be facing many challenges which will bring opportunities to work with our Yukon partner organizations, Yukon Chamber of Commerce, Whitehorse Chamber of Commerce, First Nation Chamber of Commerce, Klondike Placer Miners Association, Yukon Producers Group, Yukon Prospectors Association and Yukon Women in Mining, to collaborate and work for Yukon’s highly regulated and responsible mining industry.”

Brianne Warner, Executive Director of YCM added “Our members have stood by us, supported our efforts with legislative and regulatory changes and land use planning the last 6 months. Over the next year YCM will be working hard to ensure the exploration and mining industry has a promising future here in the territory.”

Mrs. Johnstone further noted “I’d like to thank the former board of directors for their volunteerism over the course of the last year and welcome new and returning members to the board to serve through 2022.”

Founded in 1943, the Yukon Chamber of Mines is a non-profit organization representing 700 members which includes exploration, mining and service and supply companies, contractors and individuals that have a direct or indirect interest in the mining industry.

As the trusted voice of mining, the Yukon Chamber of Mines thrives on the First Nation, government, community, and individual partnerships it forges to help facilitate an environment of responsible development - one in which Yukoners can continue to contribute and prosper.


2021/22 Yukon Chamber of Mines Board of Directors


President – Loralee Johnstone, Minto Mine Explorations Ltd.

Vice President – Andrew Carne, ATAC Resources Ltd.

2nd Vice President – Allan Nixon, BMC Minerals Ltd.

Past President – Ed Peart, Air North

Director – Mike Burke

Director – Tracy Dormer, Minto Mine Explorations Ltd.

Director – Brandon MacDonald, Fireweed Zinc Ltd.

Director – Stuart Murray, Smalls Expediting Ltd.

Director – Jerry Asp, Gray Wolf Solutions Ltd.

Director – Christian Roldan, Newmont Corporation


For more information, please visit or contact:


Brianne Warner

Executive Director

Yukon Chamber of Mines


Yukon Chamber of Mines

3151 B - 3rd Avenue.;
Whitehorse, Yukon
Tel: (867) 667 2090